Released on 2001Categories Science

Dinosaurs Under the Big Sky

Dinosaurs Under the Big Sky

Author: John R. Horner

Publisher: Mountain Press

ISBN: STANFORD:36105110281743

Category: Science

Page: 195

View: 884

When Jack Horner was in high school, he put together a science project that identified and compared dinosaur fossils from Montana and Alberta. Now a world-renowned dinosaur paleontologist, Dr. Horner realizes that many of his identifications in that proje
Released on 2014-07-23Categories Science

Dinosaurs by the Decades: A Chronology of the Dinosaur in Science and Popular Culture

Dinosaurs by the Decades: A Chronology of the Dinosaur in Science and Popular Culture

Author: Randy Moore

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9780313393655

Category: Science

Page: 473

View: 111

Providing an appealing chronology of "all things dinosaur," this book covers these ancient creatures' roles and surprising importance in science, religion, and society at large. • Depicts the history, breadth, depth, and diversity of how humans have learned about, argued over, and made use of dinosaurs—a resource appropriate for public, school, or academic libraries • Examines the events of the earliest discoveries of fossilized remains of dinosaurs and how those discoveries often became interwoven with religious ideas • Includes photographs, a glossary, an appendix of geological time, and a detailed, cross-referenced index to assist researchers and general readers
Released on 2010-01-01Categories Nature

The Handy Dinosaur Answer Book

The Handy Dinosaur Answer Book

Author: Patricia Barnes-Svarney

Publisher: Visible Ink Press

ISBN: 9781578593262

Category: Nature

Page: 288

View: 277

Featuring more than 600 questions about dinosaurs—such as What dinosaurs are thought to have evolved into birds? Did dinosaurs travel in herds? and Where and what is the Dinosaur Freeway?—this fun-filled fact-book provides a wealth of information on the lives and habits of these astonishing creatures. From the Tyrannosaurus rex to the Stegosaurus, the guide profiles numerous species, chronicling their time on earth and exploring their roles in archaeological expeditions and museums today. Delightful and intriguing, this comprehensive record includes the debates still surrounding the origins and fate of these creatures that dominated the earth for millions of years but seemed to disappear in the blink of an eye.
Released on 2011-12-08Categories Religion

Lens to the Natural World

Lens to the Natural World

Author: Kenneth H. Olson

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN: 9781610974547

Category: Religion

Page: 236

View: 291

This book straddles the fertile middle ground between science and religion at a time when the conversation is dominated by extremists on both sides. Taking seriously the modern view of the universe, including the fossil record for the history of life across millions of years, the author considers our relationship to the rest of nature. In addition, the age-old questions concerning meaning, values, and our place within it all are perhaps more pressing than ever before. This work provides a broad engagement with major ideas, including evolution and earth stewardship, while drawing upon a rich heritage of philosophy and literature and doing so in a manner accessible to the general reader.
Released on 2009-01-01Categories Biologists

A to Z of Biologists

A to Z of Biologists

Author: Lisa Yount

Publisher: Infobase Publishing

ISBN: 9781438109176

Category: Biologists

Page: 401

View: 607

Profiles more than 150 scientists from around the world who made important contributions to the field of biology, including Claude Bernard, Alexander Fleming, Mary-Claire King, Ronald Ross, and Tetsuko Takabe.
Released on 2009-03-19Categories Science

How to Build a Dinosaur

How to Build a Dinosaur

Author: Jack Horner

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101028711

Category: Science

Page: 256

View: 847

A world-renowned paleontologist reveals groundbreaking science that trumps science fiction: how to grow a living dinosaur. Over a decade after Jurassic Park, Jack Horner and his colleagues in molecular biology labs are in the process of building the technology to create a real dinosaur. Based on new research in evolutionary developmental biology on how a few select cells grow to create arms, legs, eyes, and brains that function together, Jack Horner takes the science a step further in a plan to "reverse evolution" and reveals the awesome, even frightening, power being acquired to recreate the prehistoric past. The key is the dinosaur's genetic code that lives on in modern birds- even chickens. From cutting-edge biology labs to field digs underneath the Montana sun, How to Build a Dinosaur explains and enlightens an awesome new science.
Released on 2017-11-07Categories Juvenile Fiction

Digging For Trouble

Digging For Trouble

Author: Linda Fairstein

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780399186486

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 472

Twelve-year-old supersleuth Devlin Quick heads to Montana to dig out dinosaur bones, but instead she uncovers a mystery in this second book in the thrilling series from New York Times bestselling author Linda Fairstein After successfully apprehending a map thief at the beginning of summer, Dev is going to spend the second half of her summer vacation in Montana with her best friend, Katie, exploring the outdoors and NOT getting into trouble. But after participating in a dinosaur dig, Katie and Dev suspect that someone bad is in the Badlands when Katie's found fossils are switched out for old rocks. The good news? With Mom back in New York, no one can stop Devlin from investigating! But the fossil thief isn’t the only danger here, as snakes, scorpions, and bears abound, making Montana a treacherous place for finding answers. And when the mystery takes Dev and Katie back to Manhattan—to the Museum of Natural History—the case gets even more complicated, even with Dev’s friend Booker there to help. Dev has to use her brains, brawn, and yes, okay, the lessons learned from her police commissioner mother if she wants to dig up the truth once and for all. This is the perfect read for fans of Nancy Drew and Theodore Boone.
Released on 2019-08-01Categories History

The Routledge Companion to Big History

The Routledge Companion to Big History

Author: Craig Benjamin

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781000228021

Category: History

Page: 486

View: 565

The Routledge Companion to Big History guides readers though the variety of themes and concepts that structure contemporary scholarship in the field of big history. The volume is divided into five parts, each representing current and evolving areas of interest to the community, including big history’s relationship to science, social science, the humanities, and the future, as well as teaching big history and ‘little big histories’. Considering an ever-expanding range of theoretical, pedagogical and research topics, the book addresses such questions as what is the relationship between big history and scientific research, how are big historians working with philosophers and religious thinkers to help construct ‘meaning’, how are leading theoreticians making sense of big history and its relationship to other creation narratives and paradigms, what is ‘little big history’, and how does big history impact on thinking about the future? The book highlights the place of big history in historiographical traditions and the ways in which it can be used in education and public discourse across disciplines and at all levels. A timely collection with contributions from leading proponents in the field, it is the ideal guide for those wanting to engage with the theories and concepts behind big history.
Released on 2009-05Categories Biography & Autobiography

Under the Big Sky

Under the Big Sky

Author: Jackson J. Benson

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 9780803222861

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 322

View: 142

Author of The Way West and the screenplay for the classic Shane, among many other timeless stories, icon of Western literature A. B. "Bud" Guthrie Jr. brought a blazing realism to the story of the West. That realism came out of the depth of Guthrie's historical research and an acuity that had seldom been seen in the work of Western novelists. The small Montana town that figures in several of Guthrie's books is clearly patterned after the town where he grew up, Choteau, on the eastern front of the Rocky Mountains. Biographer Benson illuminates Guthrie's upbringing and education, the influence of his intellectually inclined father, his work as a newspaperman in Kentucky, and his time at Harvard University. Animated by the observations of friends, family, and fellow authors, this intimate account offers rare insight into the life and work of a remarkable writer and into the making of the literary West.--From publisher description.
Released on 2017-04-10Categories Literary Collections

The History of the Future

The History of the Future

Author: Edward McPherson

Publisher: Coffee House Press

ISBN: 9781566894760

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 290

View: 610

Essays on America’s changing environment from an author who is “funny and searching—a joy to read” (Elizabeth Kolbert). What does it mean to think about Dallas, the city where JFK was shot, in relationship to Dallas, the show that just seventeen years later made “Who shot J.R.” a national catchphrase? This collection of essays looks at seven diverse American places and reexamines them in the light of history, experience, and myth. Taking on topics from private streets, racism, and the St. Louis World’s Fair to fracking for oil and digging for dinosaurs in North Dakota boomtowns, this book both warns about the dangers we face as a nation and “explores America in all its beauty and strangeness” (Elizabeth Kolbert, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Sixth Extinction). “In his energetic and incisive collection of essays, The History of the Future, McPherson thoughtfully examines seven markedly different American sites. In doing so, he zeros in on the manner in which cultural representation and the pull of nostalgia skewer our self-image at this critical juncture in American history, too often steering us away from our most pressing concerns. His often quirky study reveals the suppressed violence that ravages our communities’ social harmony as well as the environmental balance we so desperately need to preserve.” —St. Louis Post-Dispatch “Taken together, this travelogue of the familiar and the strange exposes multiple anxieties latent in the national subconscious: racial inequalities, the dread of disaster, the chase after short-term profits, the eroding meaning of home. McPherson’s depth of research, the inventiveness of his prose, and his sensitivity to municipal undercurrents make this a first-rate work of social analysis.” —Los Angeles Review of Books “Edward McPherson’s meditations on the United States—from its soaring, vulnerable architecture to its deep underground tunnels—are bracing in their acknowledgment of what’s been lost to time and his anxieties about what’s ahead. This is a smart and beautifully written book about America.” —Rebecca Traister