Released on 2018-08-06Categories Political Science

Fighting for a Living Wage

Fighting for a Living Wage

Author: Stephanie Luce

Publisher: Cornell University Press

ISBN: 9781501728280

Category: Political Science

Page: 288

View: 364

The living wage movement is considered by many to be the most interesting grassroots enterprise to emerge since the civil rights movement. Ten years after the first ordinance was passed in Baltimore, there are more than one hundred living wage ordinances on the books across the United States, and the movement continues to thrive and grow, despite increasing opposition. This book is not a simple celebration of the living wage movement, but a critical evaluation in which Stephanie Luce, a national expert on living wage campaigns, assesses the strengths and shortcomings of various campaigns and their resulting implementation. Although many local governments have been convinced to pass living wage ordinances, the movement has had less success in ensuring that these ordinances are fully realized. Some cities have consistently enforced their ordinances after passage. In other communities implementation is weak or nonexistent, and thousands of workers do not benefit from laws designed to ensure that they are paid a living wage. Luce provides in Fighting for a Living Wage the first serious examination of the reasons for implementation failure, as well as an analysis of the factors that lead to success. Luce argues that citizens can play a significant role in implementing and monitoring living wage policies, even where governments oppose the movement or are reluctant to enforce the laws in question. Luce finds that the nature of the campaign to formulate and pass policy can influence the likelihood of successful implementation. Surprisingly, the chances for thorough enforcement are greater in communities where living wage campaigns caused more, not less, conflict. For more about this book and its author, click here.
Released on 2020-08-18Categories Juvenile Nonfiction

Finish the Fight!

Finish the Fight!

Author: Veronica Chambers

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN: 9780358407829

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 147

View: 359

A New York Times bestseller! Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds—black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more—who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth anniversary of the historic win for women's rights, it's time to celebrate the names and stories of the women whose stories have yet to be told. Gorgeous portraits accompany biographies of such fierce but forgotten women as Yankton Dakota Sioux writer and advocate Zitkála-Šá, Mary Eliza Church Terrell, who cofounded the National Association of Colored Women (NACW), and Mabel Ping-Hua Lee, who, at just sixteen years old, helped lead the biggest parade in history to promote the cause of suffrage. FINISH THE FIGHT will fit alongside important collections that tell the full story of America's fiercest women. Perfect for fans of GOOD NIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS and BAD GIRLS THROUGHOUT HISTORY.
Released on 2016-01-17Categories

The Ultimate Vanishing Act

The Ultimate Vanishing Act

Author: Eric LaMont Gregory MSc Oxon

Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing & Rights Agency

ISBN: 9781681815541

Category:

Page:

View: 587

Eric LaMont Gregory provides an eye-opening account of American foreign policy and how the decisions made today will influence the forces that propel America into the future. His international career began in the Middle East in the 1960s. Over the next 40-plus years, he was in Bosnia during the war; Rwanda before and after the genocide; Honduras after Hurricane Mitch; Guatemala, El Salvador, and Nicaragua during the Contra death squad era, and Afghanistan shortly after 9/11. He witnessed two famines in Ethiopia, conflicts in North, East, South and West Africa, as well as in the Middle East, and Central, South, and East Asia. Gregory is unswerving in his assessment of the way America carries out emergency humanitarian relief operations, stating that while the goodwill of the American people plays out on the world stage, all too often we are making enemies, not friends. The Ultimate Vanishing Act is an authoritative account of contemporary diplomacy and science. It is undeniably informative and a right riveting read. “Detailed, revealing, charming, funny, witty, compassionate, sensitive, adventurous, and seductive.” – Naji, author of My Invisible Empire
Released on 2006-06-26Categories Political Science

Never Quit The Fight

Never Quit The Fight

Author: Ralph Peters

Publisher: Stackpole Books

ISBN: 9780811741149

Category: Political Science

Page: 368

View: 578

Drawing on his global experiences from Africa to Iraq, author Ralph Peters attacks today's crucial issues of our time head-on, with the clear eye and blunt voice that has won him a devoted following.
Released on 2013-11-05Categories Fiction

Fighting Only Gets You Somewhere

Fighting Only Gets You Somewhere

Author: Samantha Hartley

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781491830062

Category: Fiction

Page: 610

View: 265

Everyone has a battle in life that they’ve had to face. For me, well, it wasn’t something that a typical teenage girl had to deal with. No, it wasn’t a lifelong disease or some crippling addiction I was trying to beat either. But, in a way, I guess you could say it was. My battle only got harder and 10 times more complicated when I met a Nixon. Then it got even worse when I met the rest of the Nixon clan. While I wouldn’t say that my life was normal before I met William Nixon, I was actually trying to make it that way. I was trying to distance myself from what I’d wrapped my whole life around. But one mistake – one stupid decision to go back to the warehouse – undid two years’ worth of hard work. Now I was back to where I started – addicted, bloodied, crippled, and diseased. Only, I wasn’t really. That would mean I was home and in reality I was the furthest thing from it. If I were home that would mean most things would be back to the way they were. But they weren’t. They couldn’t be. There was only one thing that always seemed to stay the same. The place I could never escape. The place that drew me back time and time again. The warehouse. All I can say though is fighting only gets you somewhere. And I learned that the hard way.
Released on 2016-01-01Categories History

Hitler's Compromises

Hitler's Compromises

Author: Nathan Stoltzfus

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300217506

Category: History

Page: 415

View: 610

VII: "The People Know Where to Find the Leadership's Soft Spot": Air Raid Evacuations, Popular Protest, and Hitler's Soft Strategies -- VIII: Germany's Rosenstrasse and the Fate of Mixed Marriages -- Conclusion -- Afterword on Historical Research: Back to the "Top Down"? -- Notes -- Acknowledgments -- Index -- A -- B -- C -- D -- E -- F -- G -- H -- I -- J -- K -- L -- M -- N -- O -- P -- R -- S -- T -- U -- V -- W
Released on 2018-07-10Categories Social Science

Fighting Women

Fighting Women

Author: Victoria Katherine Burbank

Publisher: University of California Press

ISBN: 9780520302761

Category: Social Science

Page: 268

View: 910

Fighting is common among contemporary Aboriginal women in Mangrove, Australia. Women fight with men and with other women—often with “the other woman.” Victoria Burbank’s depiction of these women offers a powerful new perspective that can be applied to domestic violence in Western settings. Noting that Aboriginal women not only talk without shame about their angry emotions but also express them in acts of aggression and defense, Burbank emphasizes the positive social and cultural implications of women’s refusal to be victims. She explores questions of hierarchy and the expression of emotions, as well as women’s roles in domestic violence. Human aggression can be experienced and expressed in different ways, she says, and is not necessarily always “wrong.” Fighting Women is relevant to discussions of aggression and gender relations in addition to debates on the victimization of women and children everywhere. This title is part of UC Press's Voices Revived program, which commemorates University of California Press’s mission to seek out and cultivate the brightest minds and give them voice, reach, and impact. Drawing on a backlist dating to 1893, Voices Revived makes high-quality, peer-reviewed scholarship accessible once again using print-on-demand technology. This title was originally published in 1994.
Released on 2011-03-29Categories History

The Martial Ethic in Early Modern Germany

The Martial Ethic in Early Modern Germany

Author: B. Tlusty

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 9780230305519

Category: History

Page: 386

View: 561

For German townsmen, life during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries was characterized by a culture of arms, with urban citizenry representing the armed power of the state. This book investigates how men were socialized to the martial ethic from all sides, and how masculine identity was confirmed with blades and guns.
Released on 2015-02-03Categories Juvenile Fiction

Fighting the Fangs

Fighting the Fangs

Author: Nicholas Martin

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781422295694

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 64

View: 216

Do you need a field guide to vampires and shape-shifters? Do you really think zombies are just badly dressed vampires? Can you identify a potential werewolf before the moon starts to rise? Is she a vampire or just a girl with an "Emo"-thing? And even more important, do you know how to fight them off if you happen to cross paths with a hungry being of the furry kind or a walking corpse with blood on his breath? From a variety of folklore and pop culture traditions we've learned some of the warning signs of vampirism and lycanthropy—and some of the best methods of dispatching them back from whence they came when they are on the attack. They may not be real, but—just in case—you need to know what you may be dealing with!